Augsburg News

News Archives - 2007

Senior athlete award-winners named

May 14, 2007

senior honor athletes of the year

Augsburg College has awarded 10 senior student-athletes with its athletic awards for the 2006-07 school year.

Seven Auggies earned Senior Honor Athlete designation, the highest honor the college gives its senior student-athletes for accomplishment, leadership and character on the playing field and in the classroom -- Emily Anderson (Sr., Hudson, Wis.); Jared Evans (Sr., Blue Earth, Minn./Blue Earth Area HS), Erik Helgerson (Sr., Chisago City, Minn./Chisago Lakes HS), Andrew Johnson (Sr., New Hope, Minn./Robbinsdale Armstrong HS), Critter Nagurski (Sr., International Falls, Minn.), Andrew Neumann (Sr., Somerset, Wis.) and Shannon Olson (Sr., Bloomington, Minn./Kennedy HS).

Three Auggie student-athletes were named Senior Athletes of the Year -- Aaron Johnson (Sr., Plymouth, Minn./Robbinsdale Armstrong HS), Marcus LeVesseur (Sr., Minneapolis, Minn./Bloomington Kennedy HS) and Mike Matson (Sr., Cedar, Minn./St. Francis HS).

Athletic awards are voted on by coaches in Augsburg's men's and women's athletic departments and presented at athletic department year-end banquets.

For complete information on the student-athletes, go online:

Pictured: Senior Honor Athletes of the Year (top, l to r) Emily Anderson, Jared Evans, Eric Helgerson, Andrew Johnson, (bottom, l to r): Critter Nagurski, Andrew Neumann, Shannon Olson