Augsburg News

News Archives - 2007

1981, 1982 men's hockey national title teams to be honored

Jan. 19, 2007

Hockey winAugsburg's 1981 and 1982 NAIA men's hockey national championship teams will be honored during Saturday's (1/20) Augsburg vs. St. Thomas game at the Augsburg Ice Arena. The game begins at 7:05 p.m., and a ceremony to honor the two teams will be held during the first intermission.

The 1981 and 1982 national titles were the second and third, respectively, earned by Augsburg's men's hockey team in a five-season span under then-head coach Ed Saugestad. The 1980-81 squad finished 24-6 overall and 12-4 in Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference play, while the 1981-82 squad finished 28-1-1 overall and a perfect 16-0 in MIAC play (one of only four unbeaten seasons in league history). Both the 1981 and 1982 teams won MIAC regular-season championships.

Read complete story.