Augsburg News

News Archives - 1998

Ted Schultz lone Minnesota college football player to receive NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship

Jan. 06 1998

Augsburg College football player Ted Schultz was named Monday as a recipient of a $5,000 postgraduate scholarship from the NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship Committee.

Schultz, a senior tight end from Hudson, Wis., is the lone Minnesota college football player to receive the award, which was given to 35 football student-athletes in all four competitive divisions. Seventeen recipients were from Division I and Division I-A, three were from Division II and 15 were from Division III. Recipients can use the $5,000 award to pursue graduate studies at the college of their choice.

Schultz, a secondary education major, has been named to the school's Dean's List all six semesters of his college career. This season, he was named to the 1997 GTE Academic All-America team, as well as earning first-team All-MIAC honors, third-team Hewlett- Packard Division III All-America honors and honorable mention All-West Region by Don Hansen's Football Gazette.

Schultz caught 67 passes for 643 yards (9.6 yards per reception) with five touchdowns (12 games) for the Auggies, which earned the Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference championship for the first time since 1928 and a berth in the NCAA Division III football national playoffs for the first time in school history, finishing with a school- record 10-2 record. He rates second on the school's all-time record list in career pass receptions (152), sixth in career reception yards (1,662) and sixth in career receiving touchdowns (13).

Off the field, Schultz has been a Big Brother mentor, a volunteer basketball coach at Central Lutheran Church in Minneapolis, a member of Fellowship of Christian Athletes and volunteer for its summer football camps, a tutor at the Brian Coyle Community Center in Minneapolis, as well as a participant in numerous other community service activities both on and off the Augsburg campus.

Earlier this season, Schultz was named a Burger King Scholar-Athlete award winner, earning Augsburg's general scholarship fund a $10,000 donation. In addition, Schultz was named to the American Football Coaches Association's Good Works Team, an award for student-athletes who are extremely active in community service and do other acts of goodwill, along with outstanding achievements on the football field. Only 11 non-Division I-A players are named each year.

Former Augsburg quarterback Terry Mackenthun is the only previous Augsburg male athlete known to have received an NCAA postgraduate scholarship. Mackenthun received his scholarship after his senior football season in 1988.

Other recipients of the NCAA Postgraduate Scholarships in football are:

Division I (1-A, 1-AA): John Bishop, Univ. of Pennsylvania; Josh Branen, Univ. of Montana; Daryle Bush, Florida State Univ.; Levi Gillen, Univ. of Tulsa; Chad Kessler, Louisiana State Univ.; Jay Korth, Univ. of Wyoming; Dominic Lanza, Dartmouth College; Peyton Manning, Univ. of Tennessee; Steven Mattson, Eastern Washington Univ.; John Rea, Univ. of Alabama-Birmingham; Patrick Tillman, Arizona State Univ.; Cory Wedel, Univ. of Wyoming; Grant Wist.