Google Apps, Privacy and Terms of Service

Now that we’ve joined the Google ecosystem everyone needs to be more aware of privacy, terms of service, and connecting accounts to non-Google sites.

Google Core Apps are part of the Augsburg Contract

Screen shot 2013-06-26 at 12.36.02 PM

Google Apps for Education Core Apps include Gmail, Calendar, Drive, and several others shown above.  Not all of these may be available to you at the moment.  These apps are covered by the contact that Augsburg has with Google. This means that Augsburg owns this data and it is not indexed by Google. In addition, there are no ads served on these apps and your privacy is protected at a level comparable to when you use other Augsburg services.  Google’s statement on privacy for Google Apps for Education is found here.

 

Google Consumer Apps are not part of the Augsburg Contract

analytics
Analytics
Screen shot 2013-07-03 at 12.29.58 PM
Apps Marketplace
Screen shot 2013-07-03 at 12.30.03 PM
Google+

All other apps you may choose to use with your Augsburg google account are not covered by the Augsburg contract.  Currently the above apps are the only ones available to you.  The first time you use any of the Consumer Apps, you will be asked to agree to a separate set of terms and conditions that cover those products.  These are the same terms of service and privacy policy that apply to Google’s consumer products.  The data created while using these apps is not owned by Augsburg and is indexed by Google and may be used to serve ads.  That means that those apps do not offer the same FERPA, privacy, intellectual property ownership, confidentiality terms and conditions that the core apps do.

 

Connecting other Sites to your Augsburg Google Account

There are many sites that offer a product or service that works with Google and connects to your Google account.  When you connect these sites to your Google account one step is granting access or allowing the site access to your account.  For example, a tool that helps you organize your email might need access to your email to help you organize.  Keep in mind you are accepting some risk with choosing to allow that tool into your email — if it goes haywire and corrupts your account the only option might be to delete your account (and all your email with it) and start over.