Submission Deadlines

When a submission is complete  it will be added to a GAAC agenda. Agendas are finalized one week prior to a GAAC meeting. The submission window closes on each alternating Tuesday at 5pm. See meeting dates on the Academic Affairs calendar.

A submission is complete when all submission requirements have been met, including reviewers’ signatures.  Please see the relevant submission webpage for more information on submission requirements: Course Proposals, Program Proposals, Academic Policy Proposals.

2018-19 Meeting Dates and Deadlines

Meeting Date – Submission Deadline (5 p.m.) 
Tuesday, October 16 – Tuesday, October 9
Tuesday, October 30 – Tuesday, October 23
Tuesday, November 13 – Tuesday, November 6
Tuesday, November 27 – Tuesday, November 20
Tuesday, December 18 – Tuesday, December 11
Tuesday, January 15 – Tuesday, January 8
Tuesday, January 29 – Tuesday, January 22
Tuesday, February 12 – Tuesday, February 5
Tuesday, February 26 – Tuesday, February 19
Tuesday, March 12 – Tuesday, March 5
Tuesday, March 26 – Tuesday, March 19
Tuesday, April 9 – Tuesday, April 2
Tuesday, April 23 – Tuesday, April 16


Planning Ahead

Course Changes

Curricular changes to be implemented in an upcoming semester should be submitted well ahead of registration so students have time to plan around the semester’s offerings. The Academic Affairs Committee (AAC) recommended on 11/23/15 the following new deadlines, determined according to the semester in which a course will go into effect:

  • Fall Semester Courses – Must be submitted by February 1st
  • Summer Semester Courses – Must be submitted by February 1st
  • Spring Semester Courses – Must be submitted by October 1st

The final deadlines for approved changes, for proper implementation, are October 15th and February 15th.

Catalog Changes

The deadline to revise the upcoming year’s Catalog is in early April. Revisions – which may include changes to a program or policy – must be approved prior to this deadline in order to be implemented and published in the upcoming catalog.

In 2018-19, the last GAAC meeting when changes to the 19-20 catalog may be approved is March 26, 2019.

Significant Program and Policy Revisions

Significant revisions, such as an overhaul or re-envisioning of a major, need approval at least one year before implementation to allow sufficient time for recruitment efforts and to implement changes within the college.

For example, a significant revision approved in Fall 2018 may go into effect in Fall 2019. A significant revision approved in Spring 2019 or Fall 2019 may go into effect in Fall 2020.